Weekly Top 5, Feb. 6-13

Welcome to the new weekly feature where I count down things I liked about the past week.

5.  Beowulf: I’m reading this for class right now; haven’t read it before and it’s awesome.  It’s very entertaining, with a cool prose style.  Definitely worth checking out if you haven’t read it.

4.  Jaime Hernandez: I’ve also been rereading some of the best comic ever, Love and Rockets.  Gilbert Hernandez is maybe my favorite working cartoonist and I think that, because of that, I may have been sleeping on Jaime a little bit.  This time around I’ve been pretty amazed by his stuff.

3.  The weather: For about a week now the weather has been unseasonably nice.  Like April weather.  I can’t even explain how much better this makes everything for me.

2.  The Wrestler: Well, I said pretty much everything I need to about this yesterday.  In short–great movie, go see it if you haven’t already.

1.  I Hate My Job: Yeah, I realize this came out the week before, but since this is the first installment, it gets grandfathered in.  I think Cam’s output from the last two years has been kind of slept on.  He hasn’t released a lot of material, and obviously he’s not really on the Purple Haze level anymore, but a lot of what he has dropped (many of the tracks on the Public Enemy # 1 mixtape, for instance) has been pretty spot-on.  Noz and maybe a few other people I’m forgetting have referred to this as “recessionsploitation rap,” and while that makes some sense, I’m not entirely sure it’s fair to Cam’ron.  This song seems more or less in line with stuff he was doing a few years ago before anybody but Paul Krugman was really talking about the economy like that.  Between this and songs like “Bad Day,” “Just Us,” and “Glitter” he’s developing a new style that’s pretty different from the things people tend to remember him for.  The past couple of years seem like they haven’t been great to Cam’ron, and it’s cool that, rather than trying to ignore it and keep making triumphant hustler music (which would have been way more sad), his newer music reflects his life.  I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment, but I am beginning to think Crime Pays could be pretty decent.

Leave a Reply

