Five Things More Interesting to Me than Writing Final Papers

So school is wrapping up which means I have a boatload of work and nearly zero motivation to do it.  I’ve spent enough time with all of these classes that I’m not really terribly interested in writing one more paper for them, but it’s going to have to happen anyways.  Here are five things on which I’d rather spend my energy, time, and thought.

1.  Watching movies: I’m not a huge movie buff but every once in a while I go on a tear of watching a lot of old movies.  I just saw Mean Streets, which I embarrassingly had not seen before, and liked it more than pretty much anything.  I’ve got some more good stuff on deck, and at this point I’d much rather lie down in bed with a cold drink and watch The Maltese Falcon than write another paper about Don Quixote.

2.  Lil Boosie’s Thug Passion mixtape: I’ve been really feeling this tape for the past few days. Boosie’s really great, and Thug Passion has a lot going for it.  I’ve been meaning to do a post about it just to get my thoughts down in writing and haven’t really had the time that it would take to do that in a satisfactory way.

3.  Eddie Campbell’s Alec comics: I want to reread these books because they’re some of my favorite comics, and they seem appropriate to the kind of mood I’ve been in a lot lately, but they’re pretty text-heavy, and these days when I have time to not be reading or writing for classes I’m trying to spend it on stuff that doesn’t use much brain-power.

4.  The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolaño: I finished reading this about a month and a half ago but it has really stuck with me.  It’s one of the more engaging books I’ve read in quite a while. It’s looking like I’m going to be writing at least part of my thesis next year about Bolaño, and at this point, I’m much more excited about that than anything going on in the classes I have left for this year.

5.  Drawing: Not much to say about this, but I haven’t logged any good drawing time lately, and it’s a downer.  I’m hoping to draw a whole lot this summer.

Leave a Reply

